highschoolholland.reismee.nl

Melanie Mignolet uit België vertelt wat haar opvalt in Nederland

When I arrived here, one of the first things that really surprised me was the windows. In the evening, Dutch inhabitants don't close the curtains and they let you see the inside of the main room of their house. In another way, they let you enter into their life. For me, that represents how I see Holland.

I'm staying with a host family in Holland for 6 months. From the beginning, they helped me to get use to my new life here, to feel like home. They shown me their house, they explained me their rules and habits, they presented me their family, they let me enter to their life as a new kid in their family.

At school, I'm following the class with other students. First, I was scared because I didn't know any of them and everything was new for me but once again, students, teachers and the staff from school helped me. After a few weeks, I started to know all of them, to be used to this school, to learn the language and to have my own habits. Now, after 3 months, I'm good friends with the students from my class. We're hanging out and going out together, I'm having fun with all of them. They're telling me their stories and I'm telling them mine, we're getting closer and closer and they let me enter into their life as a friend.

Thanks to all of these new people I met here, I'm discovering and exploring a new world. They are sharing with me a part of their life and I will never forget it. Sometimes, I can feel sad and homesick because I miss my country, my friends and my family but that's nothing compared with all the good things which happened to me here. It's just another life, another world to discover.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active